HTML tips for creating Cache pages.

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Damo.

HTML tips for creating Cache pages.

Post by Damo. » 25 July 04 9:48 pm

I have found some helpful pages with instructions for HTML for my Cache pages, but are there more comprehensive lists around someone could point me to? <p>
I have very little experience with it and specifically, I am wanting to find out the option to either center the background graphic or stretch it to avoid the image being tiled and still be 'fixed'. Do I just need a higher res pic?

Mix
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over

Post by Mix » 25 July 04 10:26 pm

Damo.

Post by Damo. » 25 July 04 10:35 pm

Yes! That's the "helpful pages" I have been using! How did you know? LOL <br>
Options for backgrounds other than BGPROPERTIES="fixed" is the kind of thing I am after. <br>
Hmm. On doing a search it seems that BGPROPERTIES has to equal fixed... It's just to stop it scrolling. How do I stretch the background image to fit the page then?

riblit
It's the journey.
It's the journey.

Post by riblit » 26 July 04 12:34 am

Damo. wrote:Yes! That's the "helpful pages" I have been using! How did you know? LOL <br>
Options for backgrounds other than BGPROPERTIES="fixed" is the kind of thing I am after. <br>
Hmm. On doing a search it seems that BGPROPERTIES has to equal fixed... It's just to stop it scrolling. How do I stretch the background image to fit the page then?
Big background images are not good - they eat bandwidth and can be slow to load for those using dial up connections. Try either a tiled background or make use of areas of background colour in a borderless table with detail in some cells if you must have a fancy background.

As an aside, some cache pages with images and backgrounds do not render correctly when being reviewed - this makes them difficult to review.

leek