View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 22 November 17 2:18 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Puzzle and multi cache coordinates 
Author Message
9000 or more caches found
9000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 293
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 931
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Is there a way to add worked out coordinates for GA caches, as there are for GC caches?


19 October 16 6:36 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1041
GCA Hidden: 298
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Sorry, not at this time.


19 October 16 7:57 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
9000 or more caches found
9000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 293
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 931
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
For a note perhaps then?


19 October 16 8:02 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1041
GCA Hidden: 298
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
This is on our development list (as of today, I thought it was already there).
http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/Geoc ... pment_List

To give you some insight, we get a lat and lon directly from the geocache listing for display everywhere. In order to change to a corrected co-ordinate list we would need to change every place that we use a lat and lon to get it from a separate table for use. This is not a hard issue, it's just a very large issue to handle as you can imaging, lat and lon are used everywhere in the site and we have some technical debt that we need to address to make this happen.


20 October 16 9:03 am
Profile E-mail WWW
9000 or more caches found
9000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 293
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 931
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Even just somewhere where we could write a note about the cache that was only seen by the user would be helpful, even if the coordinates can't be changed. As well as other notes, the coordinates could be noted there. :)


20 October 16 10:32 am
Profile E-mail
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found

Joined: 19 January 13 7:16 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Australian Capital Territory
GCA Found: 2185
GCA Hidden: 61
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
I do all my updated coords in GSAK. That might be a solution for you?


16 November 16 3:19 pm
Profile E-mail
9000 or more caches found
9000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 293
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 931
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Luckyl10n wrote:
I do all my updated coords in GSAK. That might be a solution for you?

I hear about GSAK, but I don't know anything about it.


19 December 16 12:55 am
Profile E-mail
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 14652
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1041
GCA Hidden: 298
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
http://gsak.net/
The best geocaching tool next to the GCA website :-)


19 December 16 8:05 am
Profile E-mail WWW
9000 or more caches found
9000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 293
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 931
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
I take it this is downloaded to the Garmin...or is this to the computer?

Some of the features mentioned. My Garmin can already send/receive waypoints to/from another GPSr, and it mentions getting Google maps. How about little off-road paths and tracks, which Google doesn't have. Will I lose this feature that my Garmin has now with OpenStreetMap? My Garmin etrex 30 screen is also very small, and how will that be with more complicated Google maps? Are all features of GSAK compulsory, or can I pick and choose? It is questions like this that have me confused about this.

What I have been told about the advantage of GSAK is that I can stitch together many bulk loads and this will work. Is this so? That's the only advantage I can see at present.

Also, how much does it cost? "You can keep using GSAK after the 21 days, but if you want to remove the nag screen you will need to register the program ( Note: PayPal will now accept credit cards directly - you DON'T have to set up a PayPal account.) ."


19 December 16 11:47 am
Profile E-mail
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 23 September 08 8:59 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 542
GCA Hidden: 7
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
GSAK runs on your computer and uses Google Maps there, it does not load them onto your GPSr and doesn't affect the maps you have on it. It can load caches to your GPSr in bulk rather than one at a time and within GSAK you can filter and select which ones you want to load (or don't load).

I cant recall how much it cost (not much from memory >$40) and you only have to re-pay if there is a [b]major[/b] upgrade undertaken. In my 8 years using GSAK I have only had to re-pay once.

GSAK can do many things, most beyond me and I don't use them, but especially when travelling it is invaluable for loading the caches of your destination as a group before you go (once you have done the PQ and uploaded to GSAK). You can then remove them again from the GPSr by deleting the file via your PC.


20 December 16 8:07 am
Profile E-mail
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4023
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1290
GCA Hidden: 23
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
I have been using GSAK since the early days, but of course back then we didn't have smartphones with maps (or GPSrs with maps) and it was easy to use GSAK to have all the local/state caches loaded on the laptop so you didn't have to plan where you were going in advance and print out all the notes in advance. Of course things have changed and I am pretty much just an iPhone cacher these days, only pulling out the real GPSr on special occasions.

But I still find GSAK useful, for example pulling up a list of locationless caches from GCA I could easily go through and work out if I could meet the spell locationless challenge. I needed one more O so found a locationless I could claim a couple of streets away from where I am staying to get that one. Yes I could also do that via queries on the GCA website, but it was nice to have it all with me. It also means if for whatever reason I don't have a data connection I can still look things up.

I also like to keep a copy of caches I have found across both GCA and GC reasonably current, that way I can quickly look on the map where I have been and it is recorded in case either site ever decides to bite the dust like Opencaching did.


20 December 16 9:17 pm
Profile E-mail
200 or more found
200 or more found

Joined: 21 August 10 9:03 am
Posts: 212
Location: Springwood, NSW
GCA Found: 542
GCA Hidden: 21
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
I would rather have somewhere on the page to write a note, rather than use GSAK to record corrected coordinates.

Sometimes the solution you get to a puzzle involves more than just the coordinates, eg the solution may also give you the combination you need to open a lock. The ability to add a personal note would be useful.


23 December 16 9:02 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar

Joined: 12 May 05 7:58 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Morphett Vale
GCA Found: 414
GCA Hidden: 55
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Toriaz wrote:
I would rather have somewhere on the page to write a note, rather than use GSAK to record corrected coordinates.

Sometimes the solution you get to a puzzle involves more than just the coordinates, eg the solution may also give you the combination you need to open a lock. The ability to add a personal note would be useful.


GSAK has the ability to add user notes specific to individual geocaches, and even add the user note to the first log when exporting to your GPSr.

GSAK really is a Swiss Army Knife for geocaching.


23 December 16 9:36 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
200 or more found
200 or more found

Joined: 21 August 10 9:03 am
Posts: 212
Location: Springwood, NSW
GCA Found: 542
GCA Hidden: 21
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
J_&_J wrote:
Toriaz wrote:
I would rather have somewhere on the page to write a note, rather than use GSAK to record corrected coordinates.

Sometimes the solution you get to a puzzle involves more than just the coordinates, eg the solution may also give you the combination you need to open a lock. The ability to add a personal note would be useful.


GSAK has the ability to add user notes specific to individual geocaches, and even add the user note to the first log when exporting to your GPSr.

GSAK really is a Swiss Army Knife for geocaching.



I am well aware of what GSAK can do. I would still prefer to have the ability to write notes on a cache page rather than on a 3rd party application.


24 December 16 7:37 pm
Profile E-mail
User avatar

Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Posts: 302
Location: Australia
GCA Found: 473
GCA Hidden: 91
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Puzzle and multi cache coordinates
Do you have the super power to access the final coordinates of an old archived .au multicache that the 2 waypoints have been long lost from? Specifically, http://geocaching.com.au/cache/ga0066?


09 February 17 1:37 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.